Staff Staff Awards

Ladue Schools Educators Receive Benjamin Lawson Hooks Excellence in Education Award

Design of a shooting star

As written by James Baer and published on Ladue-Frontenac on March 31, 2012…

Two Ladue Horton Watkins High School teachers will be recognized with the prestigious Benjamin Lawson Hooks Excellence in Education Awards June 5, 2012. Dr. Eric Hahn and Angela Haywood-Gaskin will be recognized at the St. Louis County NAACP annual Freedom Fund fellowship dinner on Tuesday, June 5, 2012 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Clayton.

The award is given to five individuals each year who exemplify the great work of Benjamin Lawson Hooks who made significant contributions to the movement during the course of his lifetime. Hooks, who was the first African American appointed to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) died in 2010 at age 85 in his hometown of Memphis. Hooks served as executive director of the NAACP from 1977 to 1993.

The NAACP dinner is one of the largest of its kind in the nation. Sponsors for the Freedom Fund Dinner include Edward Jones, Citi Financial, AT&T Missouri, Wells Fargo, Southwest Airlines,Anheuser Busch and the American Association of Retired People and others.

Previously, Ladue teachers Dr. Rob Good, Dianne Powell, Chrystal Sailor and Maxine Birdsong have received this prestigious award.