Academics District Recognition Extracurricular Activities Students

LHWHS Wins National Academic All-Star Tournament for Missouri

Design of a shooting star

June 16, 2013

Columbus, OH –  The fourth annual National Academic All-Star Tournament ended at Ohio State University today with the state of Missouri defeating Texas in the final match to claim the championship.

NASAT is a season-ending academic quizbowl event in which all-star teams from different U.S. states square off for the national championship.

Team Missouri members Max Schindler, Ben Zhang, Jialin Ding, and Haohang Xu emerged in first place after two days of intense competition on questions of a collegiate-level difficulty covering topics including literature, history, science, art, religion, philosophy, current events, and geography of the U.S. and the entire world.

Though all the other states in the field combined top students from multiple schools to form their all-star teams, Missouri chose to send the lineup from Ladue Horton Watkins High School in St. Louis, MO as its representative. The decision by the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance, which selects the team each year, to go with a single-school lineup for the first time was vindicated when the Missouri team defeated multi-school all-star teams from twelve other states to take the title.

“This is only the second time in the four years of the competition that the four best players in a state have all come from one school,” said Matt Weiner, chairman of HSAPQ. “To be able to defeat such incredible all-star teams as we saw this year, on questions that go well beyond the high school curriculum, is a testament to the hard work that the students from Ladue put in.”

Missouri’s correct responses in the championship match with Texas included questions on the anthropologist Clifford Geertz, Caribbean poet Aime Cesaire, recent events involving the International Monetary Fund, the geography of Kenya, and infrared spectroscopy, a chemistry lab technique.

Texas finished second in this year’s competition, with California taking third place and Ohio fourth. The previous winners of the tournament were Pennsylvania (2010), Texas (2011), and California (2012).


The National Academic All-Star Tournament is a season-ending academic quizbowl event in which all-star teams from different U.S. states square off for the national championship. It is the most challenging high school tournament of the year, not only featuring questions of a very high difficulty level but also being the only tournament which allows all-star teams from multiple schools. This year’s tournament drew teams from Missouri, Texas, California, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, Virginia, New York, New Jersey, Georgia, Indiana, and Minnesota. Statistics for this year’s tournament may be found at


High School Academic Pyramid Questions provides question sets to quizbowl competitions across North America, including the official state championships of Virginia, Ohio, and Michigan, as well as the National History Bee & Bowl.

For more information, contact HSAPQ chairman Matt Weiner at:

(804) 651-7700