1969 LHWHS Grad Receives Distinguished Alumnus Award from University of Illinois College of Medicine

Design of a shooting star

Profile photo of Dr. Steven AverbuchLadue Horton Watkins High School graduate, class of 1969, Dr. Steven Averbuch was presented with the 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award by the University of Illinois College of Medicine. He was honored at the Reunion Dinner and Gala on September 19-20, 2014.

Dr. Averbuch is Vice President, Translational Clinical Development, Oncology & Pharmacodiagnostics at Bristol-Myers Squibb. In this role, Dr. Averbuch is responsible for the execution of external clinical collaborations for the company’s immuno-oncology pipeline. Dr. Averbuch also leads the Pharmacodiagnostics Center of Excellence, whose mission is to drive biomarker strategy, optimize biomarker knowledge and tools across all of R&D and execute on the integrated co-development and co-commercialization of diagnostic tests as companions to Bristol-Myers Squibb medicines.

Dr. Averbuch joined Bristol-Myers Squibb in 2006. Prior to his current role, he co-led the Oncology early strategy team and the executive sponsor for Oncology Transition Teams for the execution of Phase 2 Oncology programs. Dr. Averbuch has made significant Global Clinical Research contributions to business development and he has participated in multiple successful licensing and acquisition deals.

Dr. Averbuch previously held positions at Merck Research Laboratories, AstraZeneca, and Mount Sinai School of Medicine. He attended the University of Kansas prior to receiving his M.D. and received his Internal Medicine training from the University of Illinois, Chicago and his Medical Oncology training at the National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, Maryland.

Dr. Averbuch has authored over 60 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters, and he is a co-author on one patent. He is currently on the Personalized Medicine Coalition Board of Directors, the Steering Committee of the National Biomarker Development Alliance, the Advisory Board for the University of Kansas Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation, and he is a member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the American Association for Cancer Research having served on multiple committees for both organizations.

(Picture courtesy