Academics Building Recognition Extracurricular Activities Ladue Middle School Students

LMS Science Olympiad First in State and Headed to Nationals

Science Olympiad logo

On April 18, 2015, the Ladue Middle School (LMS) Science Olympiad team pulled through yet another State Championship.  The team placed first in Missouri above The Pembroke Hill School team from Kansas City, MO which came in second and the Wydown Middle School team from Clayton, MO which came in third.  LMS students will travel to Lincoln, NE in May to represent Missouri at the National Competition.  This is the LMS team’s 21st appearance at the National Competition.  The team is led by Ladue Middle School Science Teacher Elizabeth Steck.

State Competition Team:  (The team competes in Division B which allows for fifteen members, five of which can be ninth-grade students.)

  • Ninth-graders: Kate Prablek, Justin Chen, Annie Liu, and Albert Liu
  • Eighth-graders: Seema Patil, Raj Paul, Nevan Giuliani, Max Kornfeld, Kevin Jiang, Ethan Wang, Akhil Kondepudi
  • Seventh-graders: Katie Shaw, Gavin Giuliani, Cindy Wang, Christopher Ye

State Individual Qualifier:

  • Seventh-grader Shelei Pan

State Alternates:

  • Seventh-graders Fayzan Ali and Ansh Rana
  • Sixth-grader Alexander Ye

Event Coaches:  Amy Baniak, Brian Scheidt, Christine Allen, Liz Petersen, Emily Chu, Hugh McMonigle, Kathleen Mercury, Kathy Murphy, Kelly Hake, Laurie Lambie, Peggy Doty, Mark Biernbaum, Martin Long, Matt Mortillo, Melody Frese, Michael Clay, Paul Turney, Reva Davis, Sara Eller, and Theo Washington