Building Recognition Conway Elementary Early Childhood Center Extracurricular Activities Fifth Grade Center Ladue Horton Watkins High School Ladue Middle School Old Bonhomme Elementary Reed Elementary Spoede Elementary Students

More than 40 Ladue Schools Students Competed in 2018 State Scholastic Chess Championship

The Spoede team poses with their trophies.

More than 40 Ladue School District students competed in the 2018 Missouri State Scholastic Chess Championships on Saturday, March 17, in Columbia, Missouri. See the individual school team results below!

High School:

  • High School Team: LHWHS – 3rd

Middle School:

  • K- 8: LMS – 1st (Highest team score in the tournament across all sections; won 1st place the second year in a row)
  • K- 6: LMS – 4th


  • K- 5: Fifth Grade Center – 8th; Spoede – 11th; Reed – 12th; Conway – 15th; Old Bonhomme – 27th
  • K- 3: Spoede – 1st (second year in a row); Conway – 12th, Old Bonhomme – 13th; Reed – 19th

Included below is the breakdown of the teams and their awards:

Third Grade and under division

  • The Spoede Elementary team of Alex Zhang (2), Felix Zhang (3), Kevin Wu (2), Cooper Buxner (3), Bodie Buxner (3), Aurva Patil (K), and Roger Tang (2) won the 3rd and under championship.
  • The Conway Elementary team of Ayden Huang (2) came in 12th place in the 3rd and under division.
  • The Old Bonhomme team of Newman Shen (2) finished in 13th place in the 3rd and under division.
  • The Reed Elementary team of Liam Garland finished in 19th place in the 3rd and under division.
  • In the individual standings, Alex Zhang (2) won the 3rd grade and under division with a perfect score, Ayden Huang (2) was 2nd, Newman Shen (2) was 3rd, Felix Zhang (3) was 10th, Kevin Wu (2) was 13th, Liam Garland was 19th, Cooper Buxner (3) was 21st, Bodie Buxner was (3) 23rd, Aurva Patil (K) was 32nd, and Roger Tang (2) was 37th.

Fifth Grade and under division

  • In the 5th grade and under division, the Ladue Fifth Grade Center team (Harper Buxner, Sahil Chatwal, and Natalie Wolk) finished 8th.
  • The Spoede team (Celina Zhou (4) and Christopher Huang (4)) finished 11th.
  • The Reed team (Jenna Song (4) and Evie Garland (4)) finished 12th.
  • The Conway team (Aaron Lin (3)) finished 15th.
  • The Old Bonhomme team (David Lin (4)) finished 27th.
  • In the 5th and under individual standings, Aaron Lin (3) was 1st with a perfect score, Celina Zhou (4) was 2nd, Jenna Song (4) was 6th, Harper Buxner (5) was 31st, David Lin (4) was 32nd, Sahil Chatwal (5) was 43rd, Christopher Huang (4) was 44th, Evie Garland (4) was 47th, and Natalie Wolk (5) was 59th.

Middle School

  • The Ladue Middle School 6th grade and under team of Samuel Lu (6), Zachary Barrett (6), Noah Wolk (6), and Jonah Wolk (6) finished in 4th place in the 6th grade and under division.
  • In the 6th grade and under individual standings, Samuel Lu (6) was 7th, Zachary Barrett (6) was 11th, Noah Wolk (6) was 39th, and Jonah Wolk (6) was 47th.
  • The 8th grade and under team of Iris Zhou (8), Benjamin Shoykhet (7), Benjamin Liu (8), Andrew Teh (7), Daniel Ye (8), Allen You (7), Domenic Fenoglio (8), Andrew Stappenbeck (7), Alex Rybak (8), Kanishk Shanmugam (8), Arya Bhushan (8), Joshua Fundler (8), and Samuel Loiterstein (7) won the 8th and under division.
  • In the 8th grade and under individual standings, Iris Zhou (8) was 1st with a perfect score, Benjamin Shoykhet (7) was 3rd, Benjamin Liu (8) was 6th, Andrew Teh (7) was 9th, Daniel Ye (8) was 14th, Allen You (7) was 19th, Domenic Fenoglio (8) was 20th, Andrew Stappenbeck (7) was 28th, Alex Rybak (8) was 30th, Kanishk Shanmugam (8) was 31st, Arya Bhushan (8) was 33rd, Joshua Fundler (8) was 34th, and Samuel Loiterstein (7) was 60th.

Iris Zhou (8) will represent Missouri in this year’s Barber Tournament, the national chess invitational tournament for each state’s junior high school champions.

High School

  • The LHWHS team of Erik Tkachenko (9), Jason Pummer (10), Katie Eisenman (9), Thomas Xiong (12), Yan Rybak (12), Josh Wolk (9), and Sophie Kras (10) finished in 3rd place in the High School division.
  • In the high school individual standings, Erik Tkachenko (9) was 5th on Board 1; Jason Pummer (10) was 10th on Board 2; Katie Eisenman (9) finished in 1st place (Co-state champion) on Board 3, and Yan Rybak (12) was 7th; and on Board 4 Thomas Xiong (12) was 4th, Josh Wolk (9) was 6th, and Sophie Kras (10) was 7th.

Every high school student scored in the top 10, and Katie Eisenman (9) was Board Champion on Board 3. After playing from 10:30 a.m. until nearly 8:00 p.m., no member of the high school team lost more than one game.