Academics Building Recognition Ladue Horton Watkins High School Students

Twenty- Five LHWHS Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

The group of students pose for a photo in the high school.

Twenty-five Ladue Horton Watkins High School seniors have recently been recognized as semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Competition. For the second year in a row, LHWHS has the highest number of recipients of any high school —public, private or parochial—in Missouri. These students qualified based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) taken in their junior year.

“This year, we are so fortunate to once again celebrate the largest group of students to earn this recognition. For each of these students, this accomplishment is the culmination of hard work, commitment to their goals and the support of their families and the dedicated educators here at Ladue Schools,” Superintendent Dr. Donna Jahnke said. “I have no doubt this is just the beginning of great accomplishments these students will experience, and we could not be more excited to see what their futures will bring.”

All of these students are eligible for scholarships that will be offered next spring.

These students include (from top left to the bottom right of the attached picture):

Top row (l-r): Akhil Kondepudi, Moses Schindler, Robert “Trey” Fruend, Nicholas Whitaker, Charles Yeldham, Max Kornfeld, Zachary Wild, and Kevin Jiang.

Middle row (l-r): Riley Gage, Peter Jakiela, Nikol Nikolova, David Steiner, Rebecca Cunningham, Andrew Hunt, Kevin Li, and Lauren Ross.

Bottom row (l-r): Alexander Kanyok, Nevan Giuliani, Akshay Govindan, Donovon Moore, Felix Hu, Egret Jin, Samuel Hiken, and Jacqueline Zeng.

Margaret Woodburn also qualified but no longer attends LHWHS.