Extracurricular Activities

Ladue Chess Team Wins 1st Place at State Championship

Ladue School District wins chess state championships at several levels

Saturday, March 30th, 2019 was a momentous day for Rams chess teams across all of the Ladue School District. It was a great day, as our team took home first place in the tournament.  This may be the first State Championship win in Chess for Ladue School District.

The Ladue Horton Watkins High School Chess Team traveled to Columbia to participate in the State Chess Tournament on Saturday, March 30th.  Our high school team was led by Iris Zhou (9), ranked #2 in the state, and Erik Tkachenko (10), ranked #6 in the state. Both Zhou and Tkachenko were undefeated and co-champions on Board 1.  Tkachenko had a phenomenal tournament, as he beat the #1 and #4 rated players in Missouri.  On board 2, Ben Liu (9) placed 5th.  On board 3, Sam Chen (9) placed 1st and was the board 3 champion.  Jason Pummer (11) finished in 2nd place.  On board 4, Kanishk Shanmugam (9) finished in 8th place.  Josh Wolk (10), Arya Bhushan (9), and Katherine Eisenman (10) all finished in the top 20 as well. Sophie Kras (11) and Andrew Fruend also made great contributions.
On a similar note, at the 2019 Missouri State Chess Championship tournament in Columbia, the Ladue Middle School chess team won 1st place in the state in the 8th Grade and Under division!  The team was led by Ben Shoykhet (8), who came in 2nd place in the state, and by Andy Teh (8), who won 6th place. Great contributions to the day were also made by Zach Barrett (7), Martin He (8), Andrew Stappenbeck (8), Rory Bland (8), Samuel Loiterstein (8), Alex Bly (8) and Jacob Begis (6).  32 teams and 93 players competed in this division.  This is the 3rd consecutive 8th grade and under state chess championship won by Ladue Middle School! Additionally, Ladue’s Fifth Grade Center (5th and under), and Spoede Elementary (3rd and under) all won the state championships.
Please congratulate this year’s chess champions and participants for this hard work and unwavering dedication this season. Congratulations, chess teams!