No Spotlight Category

Twenty-Nine LHWHS Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

For the second consecutive year, twenty-nine Ladue Horton Watkins High School seniors have been named Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition.

The competition provides scholarships to the nation’s top scorers on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) typically taken during a student’s junior year.

The assessment evaluates students in the areas of Reading, Writing and Language, and Math.

The 29 Semifinalists from Ladue Horton Watkins High School are:

  • William Bender
  • Arya Bhushan
  • Michael Cao
  • Roshen Chatwal
  • Christopher Chen
  • Samuel Chen
  • Winston Chen
  • John Cramblitt
  • Maria Dolan
  • Domenic Fenoglio
  • Kian Johnson
  • Avinash Kamath
  • Bronte King-Levine
  • Alexandra Maranto
  • Sarah Ning
  • Annie Pan
  • Hansika Sakshi
  • Maromi Sakurai-Kearns
  • Evan Schreiner
  • Garison Siegel
  • Ryan Silver
  • Anika Speicher
  • Oviya Srihari
  • Joanne Sung
  • Ryan Tung
  • Anthony Wang
  • Daniel Xu
  • Danielle Zhang
  • Justin Zhang

Of the 1.6 million entrants each year, around 16,000 with the highest test scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program as Semifinalists.

Students then are invited to apply for a National Merit Scholarship and hope to earn Finalist recognition by meeting high academic standards, providing information about their activities and leadership, being recommended by a school official, and writing an essay.

Around 7,500 Finalists are notified that they will receive a Merit Scholarship Award, which is available in three forms: a $2500 National Merit Scholarship, a corporate-sponsored scholarship, or a college-sponsored scholarship.

Finalist honors will be announced in February and scholarship awards will be announced beginning in March.