Staff Staff Awards

Dr. Audra Smith Named Emerson Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Audra Smith, Conway Elementary School second grade teacher, for receiving the 2021 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dr. Smith has more than 25 years of education experience, including the last 10 years as a teacher at Conway in the Ladue School District. 

“This Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award recognition for Dr. Smith is well-deserved,” said Ladue Schools Superintendent Dr. Jim Wipke.

“She was also honored earlier this year as the Ladue School District Teacher of the Year because she goes above and beyond when it comes to helping her students to excel. She is also a consummate education professional who gives not only to her students but mentors other teachers as well. We are lucky to have her in Ladue Schools.”

Dr. Smith is among more than 80 teachers from across the St. Louis metropolitan area recognized this year through Emerson’s program as examples of truly outstanding educational excellence.

Emerson’s Excellence in Teaching Awards program, now in its 32nd year, recognizes educators from kindergarten teachers to college professors in the St. Louis metropolitan area who are examples of outstanding educational excellence in the field by going above and beyond in the past school year.