Academics Students

LMS Science Bowl Team Advances to National Science Bowl Semifinals

The Ladue Middle School Science Bowl Team took first place in the Missouri Regional Middle School Science Bowl on March 4 and 5.

The team of Aaron Lin (8), Alex Wang (8), Luke Ye (8), William Yin (8), and Anthony Zhao (8) now moves on to the virtual National Science Bowl Semifinals on May 7.

The top 8 semifinals teams will advance to the National Championship held July 8-12 in Washington, D.C.

The LMS team is coached by Martin Long.

Ladue Middle School has won the Missouri regional bowl six times since its inception in 2013.

The National Science Bowl is organized by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE); it is a nationwide academic competition that tests students’ knowledge in all areas of science and mathematics.

Teams face off in a fast-paced question-and-answer format, being tested on a range of science disciplines including biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy, and math.

The DOE created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields.