Academics Students

LHWHS Team to Compete for Science Bowl National Championship

A team of Ladue Horton Watkins High School students won the Missouri regional competition for the 2022 National Science Bowl (NSB) in March, and now will compete for the NSB National Championship.

Yuvan Chali (11), William Bender (12), Aditya Jain (10), Rohan Suri (10) and Abheek Dhawan (10) were the top team in the regional competition in March; the team is coached by Martin Long, Ladue Middle School science teacher.

With the win, the team earned $500 to support STEM activities at LHWHS.

The team now moves on to preliminary rounds for the 2022 National Science Bowl; it will attempt to be one of the top 32 teams invited to the elimination tournament of the virtual National Finals on May 21.

The top 32 teams will receive additional funds for their schools, depending on how far they advance through the tournament, with the top two teams receiving $5,000 for their schools.

Almost 15,000 students compete in the National Science Bowl each year, and more than 315,000 students have participated in the event’s 30-year history.